Sabah, Malaysian Borneo » City Info

Sabah, located on the northern point of the island of Borneo, is one of the thirteen states governed by the Malaysian government. The second-largest state in Malaysia, Sabah shares a border with East Kalimantan of Indonesia on the south and Sarawak on its southwest.

When translated in Malayan language, Sabah is 'Sabah, negeri di bawah bayu', which means 'Land below the wind', as it is located just below the typhoon prone region of the Philippines.

Apart from the fantastic forests, multiculturalism is another of Sabah's high points as different ethnic groups live together peacefully. Most of Sabah's people are non-Malay and come from China, the Philippines, Indonesia, India, or other parts of South Asia. Some of the most significant minorities that make up Sabah's society belong to Kadazan-Dusun, Chinese, Bajau, Bugis, Murut, Indian and other indigenous groups. Though English is the most widely spoken language, Malay is the official language

The tourist industry of Sabah has matured and has been expanding in recent times. However, the state still maintains the virginity of its flora, fauna, and beaches.

Mt. Kinabalu, the highest mountain in Southeast Asia at 4,101m, is also situated in Sabah. The region is also known for some scarce and protected, endangered species, including the Sumatran Rhinoceros, the Orang-Utan, the Mousedeer, the Flying Squirrel, and the Barking deer. It contains some of the rarest plants on earth, such as the smelly Rafflesia, and is considered a' botanical heaven'.

Be it the tropical rainforests, luscious beaches, delicious Malaysian cuisine, or the welcoming spirit of the Malayan people, Sabah is a place where nature and man come together to form paradise.

Country Malaysia
State Sabah
Capital Kota Kinabalu
Area 73,631 km² (28,429.1 sq.mi.)
Population Approximately 3.91 million (2020)
- Density: 52/km² (130/sq.mi.)
Time Zone M.S.T. (UTC+8)
Languages Spoken Bahasa Melayu (Official), English and other ethnic languages